Call all images from production site

Morning

I hope somebody can help with this.

I’ve busy moving off a fork of 10Up WP Local Docker and so far things are going great.

The one thing that I can’t figure out is how to call images and other assets off the production site so that I can don’t have to download them. I use Bedrock as my starting point.

I used to be able to do this with the following nginx custom config:

location ~* .(js|css|png|jpe?g|gif|ico)$ {
expires 24h;
log_not_found off;
try_files $uri $uri/ @production;
}
location @production {
resolver 8.8.8.8;
proxy_pass https://www.somedomain.com/$uri;
}

Is there a way to do this with devilbox?

Apologies if I’m not being clear, some of this is a little over my head as I’m still learning.

Brenton

I’ve tried everything I can think of but can’t get fallback for pulling images upstream working.

I’ve have the .devilbox directory in place and have copied the file from vhost-gen and named it nginx.yml and placed the above code (and some variations that I’ve found) in the file but images aren’t being pulled from production site.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Aside from this requirement, I’m enjoying devilbox.

I hope that you have already sorted this. But when not read on.

When you request the web pages with DevTool’s Console opened, do you see CORS errors similar to “No Access-Control-Allow-Origin header found” ?

If so, I had to add the following location to the NginX server config to be able to access data files in JS from the browser. You probably only need to change the file extensions in the location line. Send as few headers and post types as needed. You probably need less. But at least the first one.

location ~* \.(?:json|yml|yaml|toml)$ {
  try_files $uri =404;
  add_header "Access-Control-Allow-Origin" "$http_origin" always;
  add_header 'Access-Control-Allow-Methods' 'GET, POST, OPTIONS' always;