Route container traffic through OpenVPN tunnel on host

I just installed Devilbox. And I’m very pleased with it so far. There are three things at the moment that I can not resolve. I have to add that I’m a Docker newbie. This is the first ever try at it.

1. With the host’s OpenVPN tunnel down, or never started, both containers still have access to the internet. While the host has not. The containers also shouldn’t have access to the internet.
  2. I can’t find out where to mount my deployment folder at the end of a container’s boot procedure.
  3. I can not ssh/scp from the host, to the containers. sshd doesn’t seem to be installed.

To 1.
What are my options to route all internet traffic (non-local) through the hosts’s VPN tunnel?
I found this GitHub repo dperson/openvpn-client kylemanna/docker-openvpn. But I see that as a last resort. I’d rather have a network config solution to the problem. Also, docker0 always has status down. I was told that this is a bridge. On an Arch Linux host, I tried setting up an new bridge with netctl, ip, brctl, and systemd-networkd. But each time this was even worse than without the bridge in various ways. All access, or no access.

To 2.
On each save from my editor, changed files are deployed from the project folder to its related deployment folder. Currently these deployment folders are mounted by KVM VMs. Either with CIFS, or Autofs + sshfs, during VM bootup or on access. The webservers have access rights to the deployment folders, and are therefore always up-to-date with every save.

To 3.
I can live with number 3. Because I can pull files/folders from the host instead of pushing to the containers. And for console activities I can use docker exec, or Devilbox’s shell script.

EDITED: To replace OpenVPN container repo url.

Not really sure what you want to achieve. I have internet on the host and on the Docker container without the need for OpenVPN.